Author Rating: A

I read My Ántonia, “the novel Cather herself considered her finest achievement,” back in 1981 as part of a women writers course and absolutely loved it. I don’t know how it is that I never read another of her novels but I plan to remedy that this summer.

Cather’s first novel, Alexander’s Bridge, was published in 1912, her last novel, Sapphira and the Slave Gir, was published in 1940, two years before she died at age 73. The Wikipedia page for Cather is quite good.

Alexander’s Bridge (not yet read)

The Prairie Trilogy:

  • O Pioneers! (not yet read)
  • The Song of the Lark (not yet read)
  • My Ántonia (read 1981)

One of Ours (not yet read)

A Lost Lady (not yet read)

The Professor’s House (not yet read)

My Mortal Enemy (not yet read)

Death Comes for the Archbishop (not yet read)

Shadows on the Rock (not yet read)

Lucy Gayheart (not yet read)

Sapphira and the Slave Girl (not yet read)

