Author Rating: A

A Most Wanted Man (read 1/30/11)

This is the first LeCarre that I have read, and I was pleasantly surprised with how good it was, because, in my opinion, most of today’s “popular” authors are crap.

A poor young Russian man named Issa, son of a Chechen woman and a member of the Russian military, makes his way illegally to Hamburg, Germany to see a banker about money his father left in a secret account. Standing between Issa and his dream of becoming a doctor and helping the people of Chechnya are multiple German, American and British spy agencies who believe him to be a terrorist and want to use him to entrap other Muslims as part of the War on Terror or simply lock him away.

The Little Drummer Girl (started to read 2/10/13)

I started this book but my heart wasn’t in it, so I have put it aside. I guess I just don’t find “political thrillers” to be entertainment given that in the real world people are dying as a result of the games portrayed in these books.

