Author Rating: A

Slaughterhouse Five

Although I remember reading a number of Vonnegut’s books back in the mid 1970s, I am not sure that I read this one. I know that I picked it up in about 1985 but didn’t get far. Don’t let my example dissuade you from giving it a go, however. By that time I was completely spoiled by the movie adaptation released in 1972.

Altstadt, Dresden, seen from the Ministry of War, Saxony, Germany, between ca. 1890 and ca. 1900

Altstadt, Dresden, seen from the Ministry of War, Saxony, Germany, between ca. 1890 and ca. 1900

The screenplay by Stephen Geller could not have been better and the casting was inspired — Michael Sacks is Billy Pilgrim and who could be a more perfect Montana Wildhack than Valerie Perrine?

Even Vonnegut thought well of it:

“I love George Roy Hill and Universal Pictures, who made a flawless translation of my novel Slaughterhouse-Five to the silver screen … I drool and cackle every time I watch that film, because it is so harmonious with what I felt when I wrote the book.”

Here’s a link to the official Vonnegut website.

