Author Rating: D

Maureen Birnbaum, Barbarian Swordsperson (read 3/21/09) AVOID

I had high hopes for this book based on the title and the concept, but the only place George Alec Effinger will be a legend is in his own mind and that of his fanboy Mike Resnick, who I understand is also a writer and whose writing I will avoid given his abject lack of judgment about what constitutes worthwhile writing.

After reading the first two stories, I realized it was pretty lame but by the time I had finished the fourth I realized there really is nothing redeeming about this book.  Effinger presents the stories as though narrated by Maureen’s best friend Betsy, but it is badly done to the point that it becomes actually painful.

I recommend giving anything written by Effinger a miss.  Life is too short.

